Information and Communication Technology BTEC Level 3

Equivalent to 1 A Level

Aims of the Course

BTEC Level 3 Advanced Subsidiary Diploma is designed to provide specialist work-related qualifications in the areas of Computing and IT Systems. The course focuses on:

  • Developing the knowledge, understanding and skills of students from an IT practitioner’s viewpoint
  • The role of IT practitioners; their relationship within the section/department in which they work; how their role and their department/section fits within the overall organisational structure and the outside technical and local community
  • Providing opportunities for students to focus on the development of the major key skills and the wider key skills in a technological context, such as improving own performance, working with others and problem solving
  • Providing opportunities for students to develop a range of skills and techniques, personal qualities and attitudes essential for successful performance in working life.

Units of study

The course consists of six units studied over two years:

Units studied in the first Year:

Unit 1: Communication and employability skills for IT (Core)
This unit provides an opportunity for students to understand the range of such non-technical soft skills and to appreciate what other skills and knowledge they will need to develop in order to be an effective employee. By the end of the unit, students will have had opportunity to identify and consider their own set of skills and, where necessary, improve them.

Unit 2: Computer Systems (Core)
This unit outlines the way computers work, starting with simple logic and progressing to a simple model of a microprocessor. This is followed by an overview of computer hardware and peripherals to enable students to understand how computer systems are constructed and how they work.

The unit also covers a basic knowledge of the purpose of operating systems, some elementary operating system processes and elementary low-level programming. This unit presents opportunities to demonstrate key skills in application of number and communication.

Unit 3: Information Systems
This unit will introduce students to the way in which organisations use information and the use of systems to manage that information. Students will develop their understanding of issues relating to the use of information and will know the features and functions of information systems. In addition students will use ICT tools to produce management information and improve their ability to collect and analyse data.

Units studied in Second Year:

Unit 4: The impact of the use of ICT on Business
This unit introduces students to recent developments in ICT and how they have impacted on businesses / organisations. Students will develop their understanding of how organisations respond to Information Technology developments and learn to perform analysis of the risks and rewards to organisations of keeping up with technological advances.

Unit 8: e-Commerce
In this unit, students will be expected to identify the technical requirements for an e-Commerce system. They will develop an understanding of how e-Commerce has impacted on organisations in both existing and developing markets. This understanding will be extended to look at how e-Commerce has affected society on an individual and community basis.
Students will apply the knowledge gained to plan an e-Commerce strategy around a given brief.

Unit 14: Event-driven programming
This unit provides an introduction to computer animation. This is the art of creating moving images via the use of computers. It brings together computer graphics and animation techniques. Animation does not require computers; however the increasing power of computers to create and manipulate sets of images has allowed basic animation to reach new levels of sophistication and realism.

Potential Careers
The BTEC National Award for IT Practitioners provides opportunities for full-time students to gain a nationally recognised vocationally specific qualification to enter employment in the field of ICT or progress to higher education vocational qualifications such as BTEC Higher National Diploma in Computing or IT Practitioners.